Despite all the time spend inside our vehicles, it’s easy to forget just how much risk we put ourselves in getting behind the wheel. The damage that can be done by an accident can be immense.
It’s easy for a serious accident to greatly alter our future health and financial stability. Despite this, they remain as common as ever.
Often, one might need to bring a lawsuit forward to ensure that they get the proper compensation following an accident. Being shorted by an insurance company can leave in a terrible position, and sometimes working with an attorney is the only way to get what you deserve.
However, you’ll need to be aware of the statute of limitations car accident laws. There is a certain window of time where a lawsuit can be brought forward and a time where it is no longer permitted. Need to know more? Keep reading.
What Are The Statutes of Limitations?
When someone is harmed in some way as the result of another’s actions, they have the ability to bring a lawsuit forward to make things right. That’s always been the process of law in this country.
However, a person can’t bring a lawsuit against another person any time they want. The more time that passes between an incident and a lawsuit, the more difficult it can become to determine the truth.
For this reason, states have statutes of limitations in place that outline when a lawsuit can no longer be brought forward. These statutes vary depending on the type of dispute. They also vary from state to state, as state governments are in charge of establishing these and not the federal government.
What Is the Statute of Limitations Car Accident Laws
When it comes to car accidents, what window of time is often given for those who were injured to bring a lawsuit forward? How long after an accident can someone take legal action?
As we mentioned previously, that would depend on the state in which you are based. On average, most states have a 2 to3 year window where they can bring forward a car accident case.
Once this time has passed, the case can no longer be brought forward. Some states provide longer windows of time depending on what type of a case is being brought forward. If a person is only suing for property damage, for example, some states will allow up to 5 or 6 years for this kind of case to be brought forward.
Maine and New Jersey have some of the most flexible limitations, allowing cases for both personal injury and property damage to be brought forward as far as six years after the accident.
Some states, like Kentucky or Tennessee, are on the opposite side of the spectrum. They only allow one year for a case to be brought forward before the opportunity has passed.
Statute of Limitations for Car Accident
A car accident can really interrupt your life and bring about a lot of damage. If you’re hoping to get your life back on track, you’ll need to familiarize yourself with the statute of limitations car accident laws.
Need more legal information and advice? Keep scrolling our blog for more.